Lexicon of sneakers

Intro and presentation:

With the change in the future of sneakers and everything new "sneaker game"become the obsession of a new generation, we thought it was most appropriate to acquaint newcomers with how to talk about the followers of this world. So you will find the "Kikikickz's dictionary of sneakers" : our own dictionary of mandatory terms to become the master of sneaker jargon.

But what is a sneaker? :

First of all, before discovering the different expressions that revolve around the sneaker, it is necessary to become a real "sneakerhead"To define what is a sneaker.

Originally, the word sneaker designates all shoes designed as part of a practice athletic, which have gradually been diverted from their primary utility to become part of our daily lives. Today in the heart of trend, the sneakers played a major role in the birth of the fashion urban : the “Streetwear”. Indeed, due to its great popularity, and the craze that drives its pairs of sneakers, a large number of high fashion houses today do not hesitate to integrate them into their very collection for the greatest benefit. everyone's pleasure. Thus, we find the latter in particular in the universe of great collaboration such as the iconic collection "The Ten”Between the brand in the swoosh Nike and the American designer Virgil Abloh and his label Off white or even through more informal collaborations such as the many iterations between the Japanese haute couture subsidiary AS OF BOYS and Nike.

Finally, through the movement of the “Dad shoes ” (daddy's shoe in french, recalling the shoes our parents wore in the 80s and 90s), the sneakers has succeeded in taking its place in this universe, in particular with the famous model “Triple S”From the Italian luxury firm: Balenciaga 

Tabs:

The "Aglets"are those little things that are at the end of laces. They were once simple plastic, but today they are available in all kinds of materials as in carbon fiber to personalized labeled versions, to gold coins (representative of Jesus on the Nike Air Yeezy II which, as you may have discovered, tend to unscrew on their own sometimes ...). We're sure someone will be making necklaces out of them in no time :-)

Beaters:

The "Beaters"are that kind of sneakers that you still choose to wear, even after have worn them over and over again. In fact, at some point you start to like every bit of "character"which manifests itself in the form of folds, scratches, of tasks, and this odour always nice. Well, maybe not the stench ... And even if you have 1,000 pairs of sneakers, you inevitably end up with your favorite little one: your pair of "Beaters".

Bespoke:

In terms of sneakers, the "Bespoke"is a unique model of the Air Force 1 designed on the site of Nike at 21 Mercer, where they offer a experience unique creation of a sneaker personalized using a assortment special of materials and finishes, up to seams and to labels. This is a real basketball "one of one"and the experience of creating your own basketball is often on the list of"sneakerheads"The term comes from suits and shoes, where it simply means"made to order" or "made sure measured". 

Colorway:

The "colorway”Of a basketball is here combination particular of colors applied to the sneaker. It is also a very boring term, but a necessary evil in our world. Often a nickname is associated with the color which is on the box. For example, Oregon, the Black Cements and the True Blues are all different colors from the iconic silhouette of the Jordan III. We could not just have simple names of colors and not several hundred variations ... But hey, that's what also makes the beauty and complexity of the sneakers world

Deadstock:

“Deadstock”, often abbreviated as DS, is a term used to say that a pair of sneakers has never been worn. It is not known exactly how she went from "dead stock" at "deadstock", but sometimes it is enough to say that ..."this is a sneakerhead thing"Contrary to what eBay may have you believe, a sneaker that has been tried, let alone"worn only indoors", is NOT a dead animal.

Deubré:

Deubre is a generic term, originating from Nike, Inc. and dating from the mid-years 1990, to enumerate a ornamental lace label, most often seen on sneakers. Typically a deubré will have two holes through which a lace is threaded, like a bead on a string.

Grails:

A "To Do List”Is a list of things you want to do before you take action. For the sneakerheads, the "grails ” are the same thing, in that sense: these are really the sneakers you absolutely want to have before you die. Most of grails tend to be very rare and extremely limited, but for some sneakerheads, it can be a colorway in particular or the old one pair you wore when you were a child and today you want to find it. The Grails are the sneakers that complements you ... YOU and YOUR collection of sneakers. (Even if we must admit that the list of “grails ” will be infinite forever ...)

“High” sneakers:

The sneaker "High" is a basketball stretching slightly above the wearer's ankle. ... They should not therefore be confused with the “Mid ” which are they for their part, slightly lower as their name suggests and is therefore found in the middle of the ankle.

“Hypebeast”:

You know, your friend who must have every new limited edition, even if it means selling the pair he just bought last week? Whoever buys sneakers based on how many people on Twitter say it's cool? Yes, we all have one. A Hypebeast consumes hype and reacts accordingly. Never forget, as Prime Minister Dawn once said: "Don't trust consumer ads as they can quickly drain your wallet". The Hypebeast So it makes sense for someone who absolutely wants the last sneaker released, the rarest and obviously the most expensive, to show it to everyone around him and make it a real Instagram account.

 “Hyperstrike” or “HS”:

Hyperstrike or more commonly “HS”Is this expression which designates the pairs whose number is limited to 50, 24 or 48 units. These sneakers often come from a collaboration and are extremely hard to get, unless of course you've heard of Kikikickz (I think they have quite a few of those;)

“Jumpman”:

Obviously, you have to know this, but common sense is not always there. The logo Jordan, become an icon, was created by Peter Moore designer at Nike, from a beginners photoshoot that was started on the Air Jordan III conceived by Tinker Hatfield. The resulting logo is now called “Jumpman ”

“Low”:

Unlike sneakers High, it is a shoe low, quite simply. For example we can have a model of Air Force 1 in different versions : High, Mid and Low (high, medium, low).

“Mids”:

Ahhhh ... the famous Mids : how can we not talk about it, especially at the moment. Hated by most collectors, loved by innovators but finally worn by all. When it comes to youth, models like Dunk where the Air Force 1 are a real "must have". The Mids therefore simply define the sneakers whose silhouette stops in the middle of the ankle. They are in a way the passage of the High to the Low.

“NIB”:

NIB is the abbreviation of new in box, or new in the box. If a sneaker was accidentally taken out of the box, until you tried it on and put it back exactly as it was, it may still qualify as NIB, but be careful or some would be tempted to quibble on the subject.

“NDC”:

Most conversations taking place today in 140 characters or less, sneakerheads have chosen to be more efficient and the acronym NDC replaced Nike (dot) com = Nike.com, aka the Online Store from Nike.

“OG”:

The much appreciated OGs a.k.a Originals. No retro, not one reissue, but the first time a shoe is released is the only time a sneaker is called OG. It's like a code, to call the sneaker: the real one, the original. Don't get caught slipping and saying that a retro is a OG because the twitter sneaker font will ridicule you (and honestly too because, you know, they don't have anything better to do).

“On-ice”:

Have a pair "on ice"means you have a pair of sneakers"deadstock"that you haven't worn yet. It's actually a way of trying to get a double and prove your ability to sneakerheads to avoid wearing your sneakers or buying several pairs. What a true enthusiast!

“Player edition”:

A sneaker "player edition"is a basketball designed for a specific player, and which is then available to consumers, often in the form of a limited release version. The Ray Allen Air Jordan XIII is a good example, in the colors of Boston celtics, signature of Sugar Ray on the tongue, sold in amount limited so that only certain fans have a chance to wear their hero's shoes. Again, it seems to me that this store ... Kikikickz have some nice ones like this, well worth a look!

“Player-exclusive”:

Slightly different from "player edition"but always abbreviated by the same acronym PE, a basket “Exclusive player” exclusive to a player is a basketball designed specifically for a player but which does not have never intended for retail sale. Most of the time, they are only available in the size of the player they were designed for. The colors are unique, the details are even better and every now and then you will see them on eBay. But be prepared to spend a lot of moneybecause there are usually only a handful in the whole world.

“Quickstrike” or “QS”:

The term "Quickstrike"abbreviated under the name of"QS"began to appear on boxes in the early 2000s. At the time, it was a unannounced version which arrived quickly in the stores being obviously in amount limited. The internet has allowed us to become aware of rumors about the sneakers, which appear to have been launched years before their release, and it now appears that even a version QS could be anticipated thanks to the dissemination of these rumors on the networks social

“Reseller”:

A “Reseller” is a person who buys sneakers (usually wholesale) with the intention of resell more expensive thereafter. Love them or hate them, they are part of this sneaker story and they will stay put for a long time to come. They certainly make things difficult, but they also kind of give accessibility to others. Some of them give you the chance to get exits OG that you won't find anywhere else. Others, come out of the local mall carrying a full set of those retro you can't get, gloating and taking photos for Instagram along the way.

“Restock”:

A restock is the fact that a store receives a replenishment of a pair or item out of stock.

“Retro”:

A model retro is a basketball which is previously released and that came out again. Sneakers retro are at the same time the best and the worst thing about the sneakers. On the one hand, a retro model gives most of us the chance to grab a pair of shoes that we couldn't have before, or that we wore so much that we have to have another pair. On the other hand, it's the retro models that seem to be the most demanded in the resale market, making them more difficult to obtain due to the quick profitability people think they can get out of them. But we'll take any retro we can get, really.

“Sample”:

A sample is usually a trial run on an early model of a shoe that is done so that designers and retailers can see upcoming models. There are different types, of course. The samples "Looksee"are usually size 9 and are made for the above reason. Samples"Weartest"are made in different sizes (basketball samples are most often size 13 US) to see how a new sneaker behaves. And the samples "Exclusive player"are just another way of saying"exclusive to the playersSamples sometimes appear on eBay or in corporate sample sales (or Portland consignment stores) and are certainly sought after in certain circles.

“Size Run”:

A "size run"or series size corresponds to the amount of sneakers available to a retailer, or reseller. We generally speak of a “full size run ”or full series, which for men's sizes usually includes sizes 6 to 12.

“Tonal”:

A colorway “tonal”Means a monochrome sneaker.

 

The "Upper ” corresponds to the upper part of the sneakers that covers the foot. This part is also called the upper.

“VNDS”:

The term VNDS stands for Very Nearly Deadstock. To put it simply, it's very close to Deadstock, i.e. a pair almost new.

“Zigh Tech”:

Introduced in 2010, the technology ZigTech of Reebok became the system amortization of choice in its many sub-categories, such as running, training and basketball. Although the slogan "Energy For Your Feet"(energy for your feet) does not exactly match our description, the cushioning system Zig did the job and was used by John Wall for his first seasons in NBA. ZigTech is just one example of "Vis Tech" aka Visible Technology, which has been a vital driver for athletic shoes since air escaped the midsole. 

“BUMP”:

Bring Up My Post (Bump) : Term used in comments to bring up a sneaker ad in a group on Facebook for example. (Bump or Up)

“Camp Out”:

Camp Out : This vocabulary sneakers designates the fact of wait/camp in front of a store before a major release. You have to kill the time between a few hours to a few days… Basically, first come is first served.

“Clerk Pack”:

Clerk Pack : Sort editing limited made by a sneaker store manager.

Co.JP : literally speaking Concept Of Japan. A color only for the Japan.

“Capsule collection”:

A textile collection made up of a few pieces in limited series. A collection Capsule can accompany an outing from sneakers, such as the recent collection Jordan x Dior

Consortium:

This is the limited edition see ultra limited at the brand Adidas.

COP or DROP:

Means to buy or pass his turn (Cop or Drop) on the next output of sneaker.

CW:

Abbreviation of the word Colorway

Fair price:

The price displayed for the basketball in an advertisement is very interesting. This is a good offer, a good price.

Fake:

Term used to mean a counterfeit.

FL:

Abbreviation to designate the store Football Locker

FP:

Same as for FL, this is the English shop FootPatrol

Genteral Release (GR):

The basketball will be sold in sufficient quantity in many stores. All sizes are planned: Male, Female, Child.

GS:

Abbreviation of (Grade School). We are talking about GS for sneakers tailored for children.

Hok-up:

A friend or acquaintance buys you the pair that you can't find anywhere. Before the sale of sneakers on the web, it was often necessary to find an intermediary to nab a US or Asian excluded. Hence the expression: " Need a Hook-up on this pair ».

HTM:

The winning trio from Nike which stands for the acronym of designers: Hiroshi Fujiwara, Tinker Hatfield and Mark Parker. The models Nike HTM are often synonymous with the highly coveted limited edition of sneakers addict.

IMHO or IMO:

Abbreviation that you can read in the comments or on the forums. In English In my Humble Opinion or also IMO for In my Opinion (In my opinion / sense).

JB:

Abbreviation of Jordan Brand.

LPU or Last Pick-up:

Just mean my last purchase.

LDN:

Abbreviation of London (London…). same for me TKO for the city of Tokyo. Paris / PRS - New-York / NYC…

Legit Check:

Term that we see galore on the forums. " Is it Legit? ". The person is looking to see if the shoe is authentic, and not a fake. Be careful not to fall into the trap of fakes. Fortunately Kikikickz is here to provide you with the most beautiful pairs in completely safe.

Limited edition :

if you don't know the meaning of this term, it's time to review your English lessons ... This is a limited edition = limited quantities.

MJ:

Abbreviation of Michael Jordan, also nicknamed « His Airness ». Ahh ... a man, a real this Jordan.

Nike SB:

Nike SkateBoarding (products skateboard at Nike).

Patent leather:

It’s about matter Shiny Leather : as for example on the sublime Jordan 1 UNC Patent leather.

Pinroll:

Technique which consists in making a hem enough tight with his jeans or pants, above the sneaker at the ankle.

Release Date:

Come on, English lessons ladies and gentlemen. This is simply the release date of the sneaker

Shape:

A term often used by purists to designate the shape of a pair of sneakers. The evolution of shape of the Air max 1 has been talked about a lot in recent years.

SMU or Special Make Up:

Here is an expression that designates a sneaker created specially for a boutique / shop.

Snearer Addict:

Term used in abundance on the web and in the street to designate a passionate, sneaker hook. We also talk about Sneakerhead.

Sole Swap:

Technique which consists of to separate the midsole of the upper. We use the sole swap in customizations.

Third Party 0 or Third Party Zero:

Refers to a store that has a Tier 0 account with Nike. There are very few in France (Starcow, Opium…). The shop Atmos in Tokyo has had Tier 0 account for many years. These Third Party 0 shops have access to exclusive sneaker releases. And why not Kikikickz is holding ?!

TTS or True to Size:

this pair is TTS, that is, she size correctly. The shoe is neither big nor small. (If you wear a size 44, take a size 44).

WTB or Want to buy:

I want to buy this basketball, I want it”.

WTT or Want to trade:

I want to exchange my pair

WTS or Want to sell:

I want to sell my pair

WMNS:

Many of you are wondering the meaning of Wmns. It is simply the acronym of Womens

 

And there you have it, so there if you do not become the undisputed sneaker: it is something that we lacked in our mission, or that you are ... Let's say receptive;)

You will now be able to understand all the conversations that were so secret to you until now and be able to decipher every nook and cranny of the sneaker wave. To find out more about the world of sneakers: all the latest info, news and exits, do not hesitate to subscribe to the 100% free “special newsletter” from Kikikickz.

Lexicon written by Solal Fima

Lexique de la sneaker

Présentation

Avec le changement en devenir de la sneaker et tout ce nouveau "sneaker game" devenu l'obsession d'une nouvelle génération, nous avons pensé qu'il était tout à fait approprié de mettre les nouveaux venus au courant de la façon de parler des adeptes de ce monde. Ainsi, vous retrouverez le "Kikikickz's dictionnary of sneakers" : notre propre dictionnaire des termes impératifs pour devenir le maître du jargon de la basket. 

Mais qu’est ce qu’une sneaker ?

Tout d’abord, avant de découvrir les différentes expressions qui gravitent autour de la sneaker, il est nécessaire pour devenir un vrai “sneakerhead” de définir ce qu’est une sneaker.

À l’origine, le mot sneaker désigne toutes les chaussures conçues dans le cadre d’une pratique sportive, qui ont été peu à peu, détournées de leur utilité première pour s’inscrire dans notre quotidien. Aujourd'hui au coeur de la tendance, les sneakers ont joué un rôle majeur dans la naissance de la mode urbaine : le “Streetwear”. En effet, dû à sa grande popularité, et l’engouement qui entraîne ses paires de baskets, un grand nombre de hautes maisons de couture n’hésitent pas aujourd'hui à intégrer celles-ci au sein même de leur collection pour le plus grand plaisir de tous. Ainsi, on retrouve notamment cette dernière dans l’univers de grande collaboration comme l'iconique collection “The Ten” entre la marque au swoosh Nike et le designer américain Virgil Abloh et son label Off white, ou encore à travers des collaborations plus informelles telles que les nombreuses itérations entre la filiale de haute couture nipponne COMME DES GARÇONS et Nike.

Enfin, à travers le mouvement de la “Dad shoes” (chaussure de papa en français, rappelant les chaussures que portaient nos parents dans les années 80-90), la sneaker a su prendre sa place dans cet univers notamment avec le célèbre modèle “Triple S” de la firme de luxe italienne : Balenciaga.

Aglets :

Les "Aglets" sont ces petites choses qui se trouvent au bout des lacets. Ils étaient autrefois en plastique simple, mais aujourd'hui, ils sont disponibles dans toutes sortes de matériaux comme en fibre de carbone aux versions personnalisées étiquetées, en passant par des pièces d'or (représentatives de Jésus sur la Nike Air Yeezy II qui, comme vous l'avez peut-être découvert, ont tendance à se dévisser toutes seules parfois...). Nous sommes sûrs que quelqu'un en fera des colliers en un rien de temps :-)

Beaters :

Les "Beaters" sont ce ce genre de sneakers que vous choisissez toujours de porter, même après les avoir portées encore et encore. En fait, à un certain moment, vous commencez à aimer chaque parcelle de "caractère" qui se manifeste sous forme de plis, d'éraflures, de tâches, et cette odeur toujours agréable. Eh bien, peut-être pas la puanteur... Et même si vous avez 1 000 paires de baskets, vous vous retrouvez forcément avec votre petite préférée : votre paire de "Beaters".

Bespoke :

En termes de sneakers, la "Bespoke" est un modèle unique de la Air Force 1 conçu sur le site de Nike à 21 Mercer, où une expérience unique de création d'une sneaker personnalisée en utilisant un assortiment spécial de matériaux et de finitions est offerte, jusqu'aux coutures et aux étiquettes. Il s'agit d'une véritable basket "one of one" et l'expérience de créer sa propre basket figure souvent sur la liste des "sneakerheads". Le terme vient des costumes et des chaussures, où il signifie simplement "fait sur commande" ou "fait sur mesure". 

Colorway :

Le “colorway” d'une basket est la combinaison particulière de couleurs appliquées à la sneaker. C'est aussi un terme très ennuyeux, mais un mal nécessaire dans notre monde. Souvent, un surnom est associé à la couleur qui se trouve sur la boîte. Par exemple, l'Oregon, les Black Cements et les True Blues sont toutes des couleurs différentes de la silhouette iconique de la Jordan III. Nous ne pourrions pas juste avoir des noms simples de coloris et pas plusieurs centaines de déclinaisons. Néanmoins, c’est aussi ce qui fait la beauté et la complexité du monde de la sneaker.

Deadstock :

“Deadstock”, souvent abrégé en DS, est un terme utilisé pour dire qu'une paire de baskets n'a jamais été portée. On ne sait pas exactement comment elle est passée de "dead stock" à "deadstock", mais parfois il suffit de dire que … "c'est un truc de sneakerhead".

Deubré :

Deubré est un terme générique, originaire de Nike, Inc. et datant du milieu des années 1990, pour énumérer une étiquette de lacet ornemental, le plus souvent vu sur les baskets. En règle générale, un deubré aura deux trous à travers lesquels un lacet est enfilé, comme une perle sur une ficelle.

Grails :

Une “To Do List” est une liste de choses que vous voulez faire avant de passer à l'action. Pour les sneakerheads, les “grails” sont la même chose , en ce sens : il s’agit concrètement des sneakers que vous voudriez absolument avoir avant de mourir. La plupart des grails ont tendance à être très rares et extrêmement limitées, mais pour certains sneakerheads, il peut s'agir d’un colorway en particulier ou bien la vieille paire que vous portiez quand vous étiez enfant et que vous voulez aujourd'hui retrouver. Les Grails sont les sneakers qui vous complètent...  VOUS et VOTRE collection de sneakers. (Même si on doit bien admettre que la liste des “grails” sera infinie à jamais.)

Sneakers "High" :

La sneaker "High" est une basket qui s'étend légèrement au-dessus de la cheville du porteur. Il ne faut donc pas les confondre avec les “Mid” qui sont elles, pour leur part, légèrement plus basse comme leur nom l'indique et se retrouvent donc au milieu de la cheville.

Hypebeast :

Vous savez, votre ami qui doit avoir chaque nouvelle édition limitée, même si cela signifie vendre la paire qu'il vient d'acheter la semaine dernière ? Celui qui achète des baskets en fonction du nombre de personnes sur Twitter qui disent que c'est cool ? Oui, nous en avons tous un. Un Hypebeast consomme de la hype et réagit en conséquence. N'oubliez jamais, comme l'a dit un jour le Premier ministre Dawn : "Ne faite pas confiance aux publicités de consommation car elles pourront vite vider votre porte-monnaie". Le Hypebeast est donc un sens quelqu’un qui veut absolument la dernière basket sortie, la plus rare et évidemment la plus cher pour la montrer à tout son entourage et en faire un véritable compte Instagram.

Hyperstrike ou HS :

Hyperstrike ou plus couramment “HS” est cette expression qui désigne les paires dont le nombre est limité à 50, 24 ou 48 unités. Ces sneakers sont souvent issues d’une collaboration et sont extrêmement difficiles à obtenir, sauf si évidemment vous avez entendu parler de Kikikickz. Je crois qu’ils en ont pas mal ceux-là ! ;)

Jumpman :

Évidemment, vous devez le savoir, mais le bon sens n'est pas toujours au rendez-vous. Le logo Jordan, devenu une icône, a été créé par Peter Moore designer chez Nike, à partir d'une séance de photos de débutants ayant été lancé sur le Air Jordan III conçu par Tinker Hatfield. Le logo qui en résulte tient aujourd'hui l'appellation de “Jumpman”.

Low :

À l’inverse des baskets High, il s’agit d’une chaussure basse, tout simplement. Par exemple on peut avoir un modèle de Air Force 1 en différentes versions : High, Mid et Low (hautemedium, basse).

Mids :

Ahhhh… les fameuses Mids : comment ne pas en parler, surtout en ce moment. Détestées par la plupart des collectionneurs, aimées par les innovateurs mais finalement portées par tous. Lorsqu'il s'agit de jeunes, les modèles comme les Dunk ou les  l'Air Force 1 sont un réel "must have". Les Mids définissent donc simplement les sneakers dont la silhouette s'arrête au milieu de la cheville. Elles sont en quelque sorte le passage de la High à la Low.

NIB :

NIB est l'abréviation de new in box, ou nouveau dans la boîte. Si une sneaker a été retirée malencontreusement de la boîte, tant que vous ne l'avez pas essayée et que vous l'avez remise exactement comme elle était, elle peut encore être qualifiée de NIB, mais faites en bon usage ou certains seront tentés de pinailler sur le sujet.

NDC :

La plupart des conversations se déroulant aujourd'hui en 140 caractères ou moins, les sneakerheads ont choisi d'être plus efficaces et l'acronyme NDC a remplacé Nike (point) com = Nike.com, alias la boutique en ligne de Nike. 

OG :

Les tant appréciées OGs alias Originals. Pas de rétro, pas une réédition, mais la première fois qu'une chaussure est sortie, c'est la seule fois qu'une basket est appelée OG. C'est comme un code, pour appeler la sneaker : la vraie, l'originale. Ne vous faites pas prendre à glisser et à dire qu'une rétro est une OG parce que la police des baskets de Twitter vous ridiculisera (et honnêtement aussi parce que, vous savez, ils n'ont rien de mieux à faire).

On-ice :

Avoir une paire "on ice" signifie que vous avez une paire de baskets "deadstock" que vous n'avez pas encore portées. C'est en fait une façon d'essayer de faire un doublé et de prouver vos capacités de sneakerheads pour éviter de porter vos sneakers ou d'acheter plusieurs paires. Un vrai passionné quoi !

Player edition :

Une sneaker "player edition"est une basket conçue pour un joueur spécifique, et qui est ensuite disponible au particulier, souvent sous forme d'une version à diffusion limitée. La Ray Allen Air Jordan XIII en est un bon exemple, aux couleurs des Boston Celtics, signature de Sugar Ray sur la languette, commercialisée en quantité limitée pour que seulement certains fans aient une chance de porter les chaussures de leur héros. Encore une fois, il me semble qu'un certain… Kikikickz en a de belles de ce genre, ça vaut le coup de jeter un coup d’oeil !

Player-exclusive :

Légèrement différentes des "player edition" mais toujours abrégée par le même acronyme PE, une basket “Player exclusive”exclusive à un joueur, est une basket conçue spécifiquement pour un joueur mais qui n’a jamais été destinée à la vente au détail. La plupart du temps, elles ne sont disponibles que dans la taille du joueur pour lequel elles ont été conçues. Les couleurs sont uniques, les détails sont encore meilleurs et de temps en temps, vous les verrez sur eBay. Mais soyez prêt à dépenser beaucoup d'argent, car il n'y en a généralement qu'une poignée dans le monde entier.

Quickstrike ou QS :

Le terme "Quickstrike" abrégé sous le nom de "QS" a commencé à apparaître sur les boîtes au début des années 2000. À l'époque, il s'agissait d'une version non annoncée qui arrivait rapidement dans les magasins étant évidemment en quantité limitée. Internet nous a permis de prendre connaissance des rumeurs concernant les baskets, qui semblent avoir été lancées des années avant leur sortie, et il semble maintenant que même une version QS pourrait être anticipée grâce aux diffusions de ces rumeurs sur les réseaux sociaux

Reseller :

Un “Reseller” est une personne qui achète des sneakers (généralement en gros) dans l'intention de les revendre plus cher par la suite. Qu'on les aime ou qu'on les déteste, ils font partie de cette histoire de la sneaker et ils resteront encore en place pour bien longtemps. Ils rendent certes les choses difficiles mais donnent aussi en quelque sorte un accessibilité à d’autres. Certains d'entre eux vous donnent la chance d'obtenir des sorties OG que vous ne trouverez nulle part ailleurs. D'autres, sortent du centre commercial local en transportant une série complète de ces rétros que vous ne pourrez pas obtenir, jubilant et prenant des photos pour Instagram en cours de route.

Restock :

Un restock est le fait qu’une boutique reçoit un réapprovisionnement d’une paire ou d'un article en rupture de stock.

Retro :

Un modèle rétro est une basket qui est sortie précédemment et qui fait sa réapparition. Les sneakers rétro sont à la fois la meilleure et la pire chose à propos des sneakers. D'une part, un modèle rétro donne à la plupart d'entre nous la chance de récupérer une paire de chaussures qu'on ne pouvait pas avoir avant, ou qu'on portait tellement qu'il faut en avoir une autre paire. D'un autre côté, ce sont les modèles rétros qui semblent être les plus demandés sur le marché de la revente, ce qui les rend plus difficiles à obtenir en raison de la rentabilité rapide que les gens pensent pouvoir en tirer. Mais nous prendrons toutes les rétros que nous pourrons obtenir, vraiment.

Sample :

Un sample est en général un essai sur un modèle précoce d'une chaussure qui est faite pour que les designers et les détaillants puissent voir les modèles à venir. Il en existe différents types, bien sûr. Les échantillons "Looksee" sont généralement de taille 9 US et sont fabriqués pour la raison ci-dessus. Les échantillons "Weartest" sont fabriqués dans différentes tailles (les échantillons de basketball sont le plus souvent de taille 13 US) pour voir comment se comporte une nouvelle basket. Et les échantillons "Player exclusive" ne sont qu'une autre façon de dire "exclusifs aux joueurs". Les échantillons apparaissent parfois sur eBay ou dans les ventes d'échantillons des entreprises (ou dans les magasins de consignation de Portland) et sont certainement recherchés dans certains milieux.

Size Run :

Une "size run" ou taille de série correspond à la quantité de baskets dont dispose un détaillant, ou revendeur. On parle généralement d'une “full size run” ou série complète, qui, pour les tailles hommes, comprend la plupart du temps des tailles 6 à 12. 

Tonal :

Un colorway “tonal” signifie une sneaker monochrome.

Upper :

Le “Upper” correspond à la partie supérieure de la sneaker qui recouvre le pied. Cette partie se nomme également l’empeigne. 

VNDS :

Le terme VNDS désigne Very Nearly Deadstock. Pour faire simple c’est très proche du Deadstock, soit une paire quasi neuve.

Zigh Tech :

Introduit en 2010, la technologie ZigTech de Reebok est devenue le système d'amortissement de choix dans ses nombreuses sous-catégories, telles que la course, l'entraînement et le basketball. Bien que le slogan "Energy For Your Feet" (de l'énergie pour vos pieds) ne corresponde pas exactement à notre description, le système d'amortissement Zig fait le travail et a été utilisé par John Wall pour ses premières saisons en NBA. ZigTech n'est qu'un exemple de "Vis Tech", alias la technologie visible, qui a été un moteur essentiel pour les chaussures de sport depuis que l'air s'est échappé de la semelle intermédiaire. 

BUMP :

Bring Up My Post (Bump) : Terme utilisé en commentaire pour faire remonter une annonce sneaker dans un groupe sur Facebook par exemple. (Bump ou Up)

Camp Out :

Ce vocabulaire sneakers désigne le fait de patienter/camper devant une boutique avant une importante release (sortie). Il faut tuer le temps entre quelques heures à quelques jours… En gros, le premier arrivé est le premier servi.

Clerk Pack :

Sorte d’édition limitée réalisée par un responsable de boutique sneakers.

Co.JP : littéralement parlant Concept Of Japan. Un coloris uniquement pour le Japon.

Collection capsule :

Une collection textile composée de quelques pièces en série limitée. Une collection Capsule peut accompagner une sortie de sneakers, comme par exemple la récente collection Jordan x Dior

Consortium :

C’est l’édition limitée voire ultra limitée chez la marque Adidas.

COP or DROP :

Signifie acheter ou passer son tour (Cop or Drop) sur la prochaine sortie de sneaker.

CW:

Abréviation du mot Colorway.

Fair price :

Le prix affiché de la basket dans une annonce est très intéressant. C’est une bonne offre, un bon prix.

Fake :

Terme utilisé pour signifier une contrefaçon.

FL :

Abréviation pour désigner le magasin Foot Locker

FP :

Même chose que pour FL, il s’agit là du shop Anglais FootPatrol

Genteral Release (GR) :

La basket sera vendue en quantité suffisante dans de nombreux magasins. Toutes les tailles sont prévues : Homme, Femme, Enfant.

GS :

Abréviation de (Grade School). On parle de GS pour les baskets taillées pour les enfants.

Hok-up :

Un pote ou une connaissance vous achète la paire que vous ne trouvez nulle part. Avant la vente de sneakers sur le web, il fallait bien souvent trouver un intermédiaire pour chopper une exclu US ou Asiatique. D’où l’expression : « Besoin d’un Hook-up sur cette paire ».

HTM :

Le trio gagnant de chez Nike qui désigne l’acronyme des designers : Hiroshi Fujiwara, Tinker Hatfield et Mark Parker. Les modèles Nike HTM sont souvent synonyme d’édition limitée très convoitée par les sneakers addict.

IMHO ou IMO :

Abréviation que tu peux lire dans les commentaires ou sur les forums. En anglais In my Humble Opinion ou aussi IMO pour In my Opinion (A mon avis/sens).

JB :

Abréviation de Jordan Brand.

LPU ou Last Pick-up :

Veut tout simplement dire mon dernier achat.

LDN :

Abréviation de London (Londres…). Idem pour TKO pour la ville de Tokyo. Paris/PRS – New-York/NYC…

Legit Check :

Terme que l’on voit à foison sur les forums. « Est-ce que c’est Legit ? ». La personne cherche à savoir si la chaussure est authentique, et non une contrefaçon (Fake). Attention à ne pas tomber dans le piège des fakes. Heureusement que Kikikickz est là pour vous fournir les plus belles paires en toute sécurité.

Limited Edition :

si tu ne connaît pas la signification de ce terme, c’est qu’il est temps de revoir tes cours d’anglais… Il s’agit d’une édition limitée = quantités limitées.

MJ :

Abréviation de Michael Jordan, aussi surnommé « His Airness ». Ahh… un homme, un vrai ce Jordan.

Nike SB :

Nike SkateBoarding (les produits skateboard chez Nike).

Patent leather :

Il s’agit de la matière Cuir Brillant : comme par exemple sur la sublime Jordan 1 UNC Patent leather.

Pinroll :

Technique qui consiste à faire un ourlet assez serré avec son jeans ou pantalon, au dessus de la sneaker au niveau de la cheville.

Release Date :

Aller, les cours d’anglais mesdames Messieurs. C’est tout simplement la date de sortie de la sneaker

Shape :

Terme utilisé souvent par les puristes qui désigne la forme d’une paire de baskets. L’évolution du shape de la Air max 1 a fait beaucoup parlé ces dernières années.

SMU ou Spéciale Make Up :

Voici une expression qui désigne une sneaker créée spécialement pour une boutique/shop.

Snearer Addict :

Terme employé à foison dans le web et dans la rue pour désigner un passionné, accroc à la sneaker. On parle également de Sneakerhead.

Sole Swap :

Technique qui consiste à séparer la semelle intermédiaire de l’empeigne. On utilise le sole swap dans les customisations. 

Tiers 0 ou Tiers  Zéro :

Désigne une boutique qui possède un compte Tier 0 chez Nike. Il y en a très peu en France (Starcow, Opium…). La boutique Atmos à Tokyo dispose du compte Tier 0 depuis de nombreuses années. Ces shops Tiers 0 ont accès à des releases sneaker en exclusivité. Et pourquoi pas Kikikickz tient ?!

TTS ou True to Size :

cette paire est TTS, c’est-à-dire qu’elle taille correctement. La chaussure ne taille ni grand, ni petit. (Si tu chausses du 44 prend du 44).

WTB ou Want to buy :

Je souhaite acheter cette basket, je la veux”.

WTT ou Want to trade :

Je souhaite échanger ma paire

WTS ou Want to sell :

Je souhaite vendre ma paire

WMNS :

Vous êtes nombreux à vous demander la signification de Wmns. C’est tout simplement l’acronyme de Womens

 

Et voili voilà, alors là si vous ne devenez pas le maître incontesté de la sneakers : c’est quoi qu’on à manqué à notre mission, soit que vous êtes…  Disons peut receptif ;) 

Tu va maintenant pouvoir comprendre toutes les conversations qui étaient si secrètes pour toi jusqu’à présent et pouvoir déchiffrer les moindre recoins du onde de la sneakers. Pour en savoir plus sur l’univers de la sneakers : toutes les dernières infos, news et sorties, n’hésite pas t’abonner à la “special newsletter” 100% gratuite de chez Kikikickz.