Yeezy 500

✓  LIVRÉ AVEC UN CERTIFICAT D'AUTHENTICITÉ


Yeezy 500, the chunky sneaker signed by Kanye West

By the time the Yeezy 500 was unveiled in 2017, the American rapper's brand had already secured a prominent place in the sneaker pantheon.
Founded in 2013, Yeezy - a reference to Kanye West's nickname Yeezus a.k.a. Ye - was born out of a collaboration between the jack-of-all-trades artist and Adidas. After a disappointing partnership with Nike, the rapper joined forces with the 3-stripes brand to found a label of his own: Yeezy was born.

In a few years, the brand became a must-have on the fashion scene, with the release of the Yeezy 750 followed by the now mythical Yeezy Boost 350, quickly revamped as Yeezy Boost 350 V2. So when the rapper announces the release of a new model, the sneakerheads of the en$er world are in a frenzy!

But when the new model is unveiled to the public, the response is... mixed. And we have to admit that the Yeezy 500 is a mixed bag! Inspired by the chunky sneaker trend and dad shoes - the big sneakers worn by American fathers in the 90s - the Yeezy 500 is far from the minimalist and futuristic aesthetic of the Yeezy 350 Boost V2 (or the Yeezy 380 Boost which will be released two years later).

That said, once the shock is digested, the Yeezy 500 is quickly adopted by sneaker lovers and even becomes a bestseller! As you can see, the first impression is not always the right one!

The Yeezy 500, the dad-shoe trend

Kanye West had accustomed sneakerheads to futuristic models with clean and pure lines... with the Yeezy 500, it's a whole different story!
In terms of silhouette, the rapper relies on a chunky shape with a thick sole and round lines. Less flexible and light than other models of the brand (the Yeezy 380 slips on like a slipper), the Yeezy 500 plays the dad-shoe card.

The high-end lining is a mix of mesh and suede (some models also feature neoprene inserts).
The Yeezy 500 has also been released in a high top version: the Yeezy 500 High.

The Yeezy 500 and Adiprene technology

With the Yeezy 500, the rapper abandons the Boost technology of the Yeezy 350 and Yeezy 700 for the Adiprene technology, which is just as efficient, but less expensive, and allows to lower the price of sneakers.
Developed by Adidas, Adiprene is specifically designed for running athletes and is implanted under the heel for better shock absorption.
The Adiprene technology has gained a lot of popularity following collaborations between Yeezy and famous players (like Damian Lilliard or John Wall) for models dedicated to the practice of basketball.
Fun Fact: the German firm invests a lot in R&D (Research & Development), especially in the field of soles to compete with Nike and its Nike Air technology.


New colorways for men and women

In terms of colorways, the Yeezy 500 relies on monochrome and powdered colors. No flashy shades, but rather a pale palette of muted colors that suit both men and women.
When the Yeezy 500 was first released, it was available in one colour, Blush. Since then, a nice selection of new colors have been made available: Utility Black, Bone White, Salt, Desert Rat, Super Yellow Moon, SoÄ Vision or Stone.

How big is the Yeezy 500?

The Yeezy 500 is a small size, so it is better to choose a half size above your usual size.

Yeezy 500

✓  LIVRÉ AVEC UN CERTIFICAT D'AUTHENTICITÉ


Yeezy 500, la chunky sneaker signée Kanye West

Au moment où la Yeezy 500 est dévoilée, en 2017, la marque du rappeur américain s’est déjà offert une place de choix au panthéon des sneakers.
Créée en 2013, Yeezy – référence au surnom de Kanye West a.k.a. Yeezus a.k.a. Ye – est née de la collaboration entre l’artiste touche-à-tout et Adidas. Après un partenariat décevant avec Nike, le rappeur s’associe à la marque aux 3 bandes pour fonder un label à part entière : Yeezy est né.

En quelques années, la marque devient un incontournable sur la scène mode, avec la sortie de la Yeezy 750 suivie de la désormais mythique Yeezy Boost 350, rapidement revampée en Yeezy Boost 350 V2. Autant dire que lorsque le rappeur annonce la sortie d’une nouvelle mouture, les sneakerheads du monde en$er sont en ébullition !

Mais lorsque le tout nouveau modèle est dévoilé au public, la réponse est... mitigée. Et il faut avouer que la Yeezy 500 est clivante ! Inspirée de la tendance des chunky sneakers et des dad shoes – les grosses baskets portées par les pères de famille américains dans les années 90 –, la Yeezy 500 est bien loin de l’esthétique minimaliste et futuriste de la Yeezy 350 Boost V2 (ou de la Yeezy 380 Boost qui sortira deux ans plus tard).

Cela dit, une fois le choc digéré, la Yeezy 500 est vite adoptée par les amateurs de sneakers et devient même un bestseller ! Comme quoi, la première impression n’est pas toujours la bonne !

La Yeezy 500, la tendance de la dad-shoe

Kanye West avait habitué les sneakerheads à des modèles futuristes aux lignes clean et épurées... autant dire qu’avec la Yeezy 500, c’est une tout autre histoire !
Côté silhouette, le rappeur mise sur une forme chunky (trapue) avec une semelle épaisse et des lignes tout en rondeur. Moins souple et légère que d’autres modèles de la marque (la Yeezy 380 s’enfile comme un chausson), la Yeezy 500 joue à fond la carte de la dad-shoe.

Le revêtement haut de gamme est un mélange de mesh et de cuir suédé (certains modèles intègrent également des empiècements en néoprène).
La Yeezy 500 a également été déclinée en version à tige montante : la Yeezy 500 High.

La Yeezy 500 et la technologie Adiprene

Avec la Yeezy 500, le rappeur abandonne la technologie Boost des Yeezy 350 et Yeezy 700 pour la technologie Adiprene, tout aussi performante, mais moins chère, qui permet de faire baisser les prix des sneakers.
Mise au point par Adidas, ceTe dernière est spécialement conçue pour les spor$fs pra$quant le running et est implantée sous le talon, pour une meilleure absorp$on des chocs.
La technologie Adiprene a beaucoup gagné en popularité à la suite de collabora$ons entre Yeezy et des joueurs célèbres (comme Damian Lilliard ou John Wall) pour des modèles dédiés à la pratique du basketball.
Fun Fact : la firme allemande investit beaucoup en R&D (Research & Development), notamment dans le domaine des semelles pour concurrencer Nike et sa technologie Nike Air.

Des colorways inédits pour homme et pour femme

Côté colorways, la Yeezy 500 mise sur des coloris monochromes et poudrés. Pas de teintes flashy, donc, mais plutôt une paleTe de couleurs feutrées qui conviennent aussi bien aux hommes qu’aux femmes.
À sa sortie, la Yeezy 500 est disponible en une couleur, Blush. Depuis, une belle sélection de nouveaux coloris ont été rendus disponibles : Utility Black, Bone White, Salt, Desert Rat, Super Yellow Moon, SoÄ Vision ou encore Stone.

Comment taille la Yeezy 500 ?

La Yeezy 500 taille petit, mieux vaut donc opter pour une demi-taille au-dessus de sa pointure habituelle.