Nike x Off White

✓  LIVRÉ AVEC UN CERTIFICAT D'AUTHENTICITÉ


Nike x Off-White, the sneakers signed by Virgil Abloh

Virgil Abloh, charismatic founder of Off-White

Architect, stylist, designer, DJ, art director, influencer... Virgil Abloh is a jack-of-all-trades who will experience, in less than ten years, a meteoric rise.

An architecture graduate, this Illinois native made a name for himself in 2009 with the opening of a concept store that was a cross between a boutique and an art gallery. In 2011, he was the artistic director of the album Watch The Throne by Jay-Z and Kanye West. The following year, he founded a streetwear label called Pyrex Vision but the adventure was short-lived.

In 2013, Virgil Abloh created the Milan-based brand Off-White, inspired by urban and hip-hop culture. Five years later, he was named head of Louis Vuitton's Men's collections.

In 2019, the Museum of Contemporary Art in Chicago is dedicating a retrospective to him. The following year, the kreo gallery, located in Paris, exhibits a selection of his creations (design objects, sculptures...).

Off-White, between streetwear and haute couture

With his label Off-White, Virgil Abloh likes to blur the lines. Inspired by streetwear and urban culture, his collections have been invited to the world's most prestigious fashion runways and are distributed all over the world in legendary and exclusive stores: Le Bon Marché, Barneys, Harrods...

Bold and innovative, the brand relies on recognizable and distinctive visual codes, such as quotation marks, diagonal lines or inscriptions that explain the function of the product on which they appear (such as "Air" on the Nike Air Force 1 x Off-White or the Air Max x Off-White).

And the recipe works: fashion icons are snatching up the brand's products, like Rihanna, Kanye West, Beyoncé and Jay-Z, Travis Scott and Drake.

Since its creation in 2013, Off-White has been making a string of prestigious and surprising collaborations: Levi's, Evian, IKEA... and of course Nike !

2017, the beginning of the Nike x Off-White collaboration

Released in 2017, the collection "The Ten" marks the first Nike x Off-White collaboration.

Inspired by urban culture and street art, the limited edition collection reinvents 10 of the Swoosh brand's signature models - hence the name, "The Ten" - and stands out for its boldness and originality.

"The Ten" collection is divided into two lines:

- Revealing, with the Air Jordan 1 Off-White, Nike Air Max 90 Off-White, Nike Air Presto Off-White, Nike Air VaporMax Off-White and Nike Blazer Mid Off-White

- Ghosting, featuring the Converse Chuck Taylor Off-White, Nike Zoom Fly SP Off-White, Nike Air Force 1 Low Off-White, Nike React Hyperdunk 2017 Off-White and Nike Air Max 97 Off-White.

Released in limited numbers, the Nike x Off-White "The Ten" models are a hit with collectors, so much so that the Swoosh brand and Virgil Abloh's label decided to ride the hype and continue their collaboration... to the delight of sneaker fans!

Nike x Off White, the artist's touch

Nike Rubber Dunk x Off-White, Air Jordan 4 x Off-White, Air Jordan 5 x Off-White, Nike Dunk Low x Off-White, Serena Williams x Off-White x Nike Blazer Mid ''Queen''... since 2018, the brand with the comma and Virgil Abloh have been chaining together media releases awaited by sneaker addicts worldwide.

In each limited edition collection, Virgil Abloh's signature is recognizable among all: zip tie, unstructured style, acidulous colors, transparent materials, lettering ("Air", "Foam", "Vulcanized" "Off-White for Nike"...).

The Nike x Off-White collections are mixed, but some models are particularly appreciated by women (like the Vapor Street Off White Blue Yellow or the Zoom Fly Off White Pink) while others tend to appeal to a rather male audience (like the Air Jordan 5 Retro Off-White Black or the Presto Off-White Black).

How does Nike x Off-White fit?

As a rule, Nike is a brand that sizes rather small. So it's better to choose a model half a size or a size above your usual size.

Nike x Off White

✓  LIVRÉ AVEC UN CERTIFICAT D'AUTHENTICITÉ


Nike x Off-White, les sneakers signées Virgil Abloh


Virgil Abloh, fondateur charismatique d’Off-White

Architecte, styliste, designer, DJ, directeur artistique, influenceur… Virgil Abloh est un touche-à-tout qui va vivre, en moins de dix ans, une ascension fulgurante. 

Diplômé d’architecture, ce natif de l’Illinois se fait connaître du public en 2009 avec l’ouverture d’un concept store au croisement entre boutique et galerie d’art. En 2011, il est le directeur artistique de l’album Watch The Throne de Jay-Z et Kanye West. L’année suivante, il fonde un label streetwear baptisé Pyrex Vision mais l’aventure est de courte durée. 

En 2013, Virgil Abloh crée la marque Off-White, basée à Milan et inspirée de la culture urbaine et hip-hop. Cinq ans plus tard, il est nommé à la tête des collections Homme de Louis Vuitton. 

En 2019, le Musée d’art contemporain de Chicago lui consacre une rétrospective. L’année suivante, la galerie kreo, située à Paris, expose une sélection de ses créations (objets design, sculptures…)


Off-White, entre streetwear et haute couture

Avec son label Off-White, Virgil Abloh aime brouiller les pistes. Inspirée du streetwear et de la culture urbaine, ses collections s’invitent sur les podiums de mode les plus prestigieux au monde et sont distribuées aux quatre coins du globe dans des enseignes mythiques et exclusives : Le Bon Marché, Barneys, Harrods… 

Audacieuse et novatrice, la marque mise sur des codes visuels reconnaissables et distinctifs, comme les guillemets, les lignes diagonales ou encore les inscriptions explicitant la fonction du produit sur lequel elles apparaissent (comme « Air », sur les Nike Air Force 1 x Off-White ou les Air Max x Off-White).  

Et la recette fonctionne : les icônes mode s’arrachent les produits de la marque, à l’image de Rihanna, Kanye West, Beyoncé, Jay-Z, Travis Scott ou encore Drake. 

Depuis sa création en 2013, Off-White enchaîne les collaborations aussi prestigieuses que surprenantes : Levi’s, Évian, IKEA… et bien sûr Nike ! 


2017, le début de la collaboration Nike x Off-White

Sortie en 2017, la collection “The Ten marque la première collaboration Nike x Off-White. 

Inspirée de la culture urbaine et de l’art de la rue, la collection en édition limitée réinvente 10 modèles phares de la marque au Swoosh – d’où son nom, “The Ten” - et se distingue par son audace et son originalité. 

La collection “The Ten” se divise en deux lignes : 

- Revealing avec les Air Jordan 1 Off-White, les Nike Air Max 90 Off-White, les Nike Air Presto Off-White, les Nike Air VaporMax Off-White et les Nike Blazer Mid Off-White

- Ghosting, avec les Converse Chuck Taylor Off-White, les Nike Zoom Fly SP Off-White, les Nike Air Force 1 Low Off-White, les Nike React Hyperdunk 2017 Off-White et les Nike Air Max 97 Off-White. 

Sortis en nombres limités, les modèles Nike x Off-White “The Ten” déchaînent les collectionneurs,  à tel point que la marque au Swoosh et le label de Virgil Abloh décident surfer sur la hype et de poursuivre leur collaboration… pour le plus grand plaisir des passionnés de sneakers ! 


Nike x Off White, la patte de l’artiste

Nike Rubber Dunk x Off-White, Air Jordan 4 x Off-White, Air Jordan 5 x Off-White, Nike Dunk Low x Off-White, Serena Williams x Off-White x Nike Blazer Mid ‘’Queen‘’… depuis 2018, la marque à la virgule et Virgile Abloh enchainent les sorties médiatiques et attendues par les sneaker addicts du monde entier. 

Dans chaque collection en édition limitée, la patte de Virgil Abloh est reconnaissable entre toutes : zip tie, style déstructuré, couleurs acidulées, matériaux transparents, lettrage (« Air », « Foam », « Vulcanized » « Off-White for Nike »…)

Les collections Nike x Off-White sont mixtes, mais certains modèles sont particulièrement appréciés des femmes (comme les Vapor Street Off White Blue Yellow ou les Zoom Fly Off White Pink) alors que d’autres tendent à plaire à un public plutôt masculin (comme les Air Jordan 5 Retro Off-White Black ou les Presto Off-White Black). 


Comment taillent les Nike x Off-White ?

En règle général, Nike est une marque qui taille plutôt petit. Mieux vaut donc choisir un modèle une demi-pointure ou une pointure au-dessus de votre pointure habituelle

Nos modèles de sneakers Nike :