Human Race

✓  LIVRÉ AVEC UN CERTIFICAT D'AUTHENTICITÉ


Human Race, when Adidas meets Pharrell

Pharrell Williams, a visionary and inspired jack-of-all-trades

Rapper, singer, songwriter, artistic director, entrepreneur, designer... Pharrell Williams plays on all the boards!

A key figure in the bands The Neptunes and N.E.R.D., the Virginia native has been noticed since his early days, both for his music and for his unique style, which blends streetwear and high fashion influences.

In 2005, he was voted the "best-dressed man in the world" by American magazine Esquire, and in 2014, he featured prominently on Vanity Fair's list of best-dressed celebrities. But far from being content with his role as a fashion icon, Pharrell is going further and moving to the designer side himself.

The rapper co-founded his own brands - Billionaire Boys Club, in collaboration with Nigo, founder of Bape, and Ice Cream Footwear -, opened a boutique in New York and made a string of prestigious collaborations: Bape, Louis Vuitton, G-Star Raw, Uniqlo, Moncler... and of course Adidas.

Human Race, the iconic collab between Adidas and Pharrell Williams

The year 2014 marks the beginning of the collaboration between the rapper and the brand with 3 stripes. After several successful releases, Adidas and Pharrell launched the Human Race line in 2016.

With Human Race a.k.a. Hu, Pharrell Williams aims to offer collections celebrating human diversity. If the collaboration mainly revolves around the footwear universe, the rapper also imagines ready-to-wear lines (hoodies, jogging suits, t-shirts, shorts, bras...). The N.E.R.D leader revisits the jerseys of emblematic football teams sponsored by Adidas (Bayern Munich, Juventus of Turin, Real Madrid, Manchester United...).

The NMD Human Race

If we had to summarize the collaboration between Pharrell Williams and Adidas in one word: NMDundeniably.

Since 2016, the rapper has revisited the iconic Adidas sneaker so many times that one no longer goes without the other! While he first tackled the Stan Smith and Superstar, the NMD soon became the Virginia native's signature model.

After a first edition released in July 2016 (the Yellow NMD Human Race), the media releases follow one another in limited edition. The NMD Human Race are rare: collectors are snatching them up and prices are skyrocketing... Pharrell Williams enters the sneaker pantheon!

Limited editions and collaborations

Inspired and inspiring, the NMD Human Race collections all help promote the rapper's philosophy of supporting diversity around the world.

The rapper has also taken a little trip around the world with collections celebrating various cultures: the American Indians with the very first collection signed Hu, then India with the NMD Holi collection, but also China, or even the Afro-American culture with the NMD Human Race Afro Pack.

Pharrell Williams also puts women in the spotlight with four models called "Now Is Her Time" and dedicated to women.

The leader of N.E.R.D. also offers some very nice collaborations. The NMD Human Race x Human Made pair, released as a limited edition, quickly became a must-have for collectors. The rapper has also teamed up with Chanel for an ultra-media drop: the Chanel x Human Race are limited to 500 copies and can only be copied at the luxury Colette concept store in Paris at a retail price of €1000.

How do the NMD Human Race fit?

As a general rule, the Human Race NMDs don't fit particularly big or small, so you can start with your usual size.

Human Race

✓  LIVRÉ AVEC UN CERTIFICAT D'AUTHENTICITÉ


Human Race, quand Adidas rencontre Pharrell

Pharrell Williams, un touche-à-tout visionnaire et inspiré

Rappeur, chanteur, auteur-compositeur, réalisateur artistique, entrepreneur, designer… Pharrell Williams joue sur tous les tableaux ! 

Figure emblématique des groupes The Neptunes et N.E.R.D, le natif de Virginie se fait remarquer dès ses débuts tant pour sa musique que pour son style singulier, mêlant influences streetwear et haute couture.

En 2005, il est élu « homme le mieux habillé au monde » par le magazine américain Esquire, puis, en 2014, il figure en bonne place sur la liste des célébrités les mieux habillées de Vanity Fair. Mais loin de se contenter de son rôle d’icône mode, Pharrell va plus loin et passe lui-même du côté des créateurs. 

Le rappeur co-fonde ses propres marques – Billionaire Boys Club, en collaboration avec Nigo, fondateur de Bape, et Ice Cream Footwear –, ouvre une boutique à New York et enchaîne les collaborations prestigieuses : Bape, Louis Vuitton, G-Star Raw, Uniqlo, Moncler… et bien sûr Adidas. 

Human Race, la collab iconique entre Adidas et Pharrell Williams

L’année 2014 marque le début de la collaboration entre le rappeur et la marque aux 3 bandes. Après plusieurs releases couronnés de succès, Adidas et Pharrell lancent la ligne Human Race en 2016. 

Avec Human Race a.k.a. Hu, Pharrell Williams a pour ambition de proposer des collections célébrant la diversité humaine. Si la collaboration tourne majoritairement autour de l’univers footwear, le rappeur imagine également des lignes de prêt-à-porter (hoodies, joggings, t-shirts, shorts, brassières…). Le leader de N.E.R.D revisite notamment les maillots d’équipes de football emblématiques sponsorisées par Adidas (Bayern Munich, Juventus de Turin, Real Madrid, Manchester United…). 

La NMD Human Race

Si l’on devait résumer la collaboration entre Pharrell Williams et Adidas en un mot : NMD, indéniablement. 

Depuis 2016, le rappeur a revisité la sneaker iconique d’Adidas à tellement de reprises que l’un ne va plus sans l’autre ! S’il s’attaque d’abord à la Stan Smith et à la Superstar, la NMD devient bien vite le modèle signature du natif de Virginie. 

Après une première édition sortie en juillet 2016 (la Yellow NMD Human Race), les releases médiatiques se succèdent en édition limitée. Les NMD Human Race sont rares : les collectionneurs se les arrachent et les prix grimpent en flèche… Pharrell Williams entre au panthéon des sneakers ! 

Éditions limitées et collaborations 

Inspirées et inspirantes, les collections NMD Human Race participent toutes à promouvoir la philosophie du rappeur : soutenir la diversité aux quatre coins du globe. 

Le rappeur s’offre d’ailleurs au fil du temps un petit tour du monde avec des collections célébrant diverses cultures : les Amérindiens avec la toute première collection signée Hu, puis l’Inde avec la collection NMD Holi, mais aussi la Chine, ou encore la culture afro-américaine avec le NMD Human Race Afro Pack. 

Pharrell Williams met aussi les femmes à l’honneur avec quatre modèles baptisés « Now Is Her Time » et dédiés à la gente féminine. 

Le leader de N.E.R.D s’offre également de très belles collaborations. La paire NMD Human Race x Human Made, sortie en édition limitée, devient vite un must-have pour les collectionneurs. Le rappeur s’associe aussi à Chanel pour un drop ultra-médiatique : les Chanel x Human Race sont limitées à 500 exemplaires et ne peuvent être cop qu’au concept store de luxe Colette à Paris au tarif retail de 1000 €. 

Comment taillent les NMD Human Race ? 

En règle générale, les NMD Human Race ne taillent ni particulièrement grand ni particulièrement petit et vous pouvez donc partir sur votre pointure habituelle.