Converse

✓  LIVRÉ AVEC UN CERTIFICAT D'AUTHENTICITÉ


Converse, legendary and century-old sneakers

Converse, an iconic brand

When it comes to longevity, it's hard to compete with the timeless Converse sneakers! Created by the American Marquis Mills Converse in Malden, Massachusetts in 1908, the brand has relied from the start on an original and innovative concept: non-slip rubber soles to avoid slipping!

At the time of the creation of Converse, we are however very far from the famous sneakers that we all know today. At the time, the brand was selling... lined boots! A positioning that may seem a posteriori completely improbable! Fortunately for all sneakerheads, the brand quickly realized that the market for lined boots was somewhat limited and adopted a new strategy.

Converse released its first sneakers in 1915, but it was two years later, in 1917, that the brand launched the model that would become cult: the Converse All Star was born.

The Chuck Taylor All Star becomes a legend

Created for the basketball court, the famous sneaker quickly made a name for itself in the world of professional basketball. Chuck Taylor himself, a basketball legend, adopted the All Star... not without some modifications (the original model apparently hurt his feet)!

Becoming an ambassador for the brand, the famous player popularized the All Star - renamed Chuck Taylor All Star in his honor - outside the basketball court. His name appears on the blue star patch that appears on each model at the ankle.

In the 50's and 60's, Converse All Star shoes were worn by the most famous celebrities of the time: Elvis Presley, James Dean, the Rolling Stones... Mick Jagger even got married in Converse shoes in 1971!

The model crosses the times and continues to seduce the icons of fashion. Whatever their culture and style, from streetwear to punk rock, celebrities all snatch up Converse All Star shoes, like the Ramones, Kurt Cobain and later Pharrell Williams, Scarlett Johansson, Millie Bob Brown (Stranger Things) or Julian Casablancas (The Strokes).

Collaborations and limited editions

Converse was a resounding success until the 1990s. But in the early 2000s, the brand was in the red. In 2003, Nike bought the company - for a whopping $305 million - and put it back on the fashion map.

To get back on track, the brand with the Swoosh applied a recipe that had proven successful with other iconic models such as the Nike Air Force 1 or the Nike Dunk and continues with collaborations and limited editions. Until now, Converse sneakers have been considered commonplace and mainstream, but now they are available in rare editions that are prized by sneakerheads and collectors.

Converse flirts with the world of luxury as much as with the sportswear and streetwear cultures: Converse x Missoni, Converse x Margiela, Converse x Comme des Garçons, Converse x Off-WhiteConverse x Golf Le Fleur, Converse x Virgil Abloh, Converse x Carhartt... The brand even has some surprising and offbeat collaborations to its credit, such as the Converse x NASA sneakers or Converse x Nintendo.

Converse knows how to surf on trends and exploit the latest innovations. In 2019, the brand is launching an eco-responsible and sustainable collection called Renew. These eco-friendly sneakers are made from recycled materials: plastic bottles, cotton canvas scraps, old jeans, bags, paper envelopes... Nothing is lost, nothing is created, everything is transformed!

Low, high, platform... to each his own!

Casual and urban style, original and offbeat or chic and elegant... With converses, everything is possible!

Chuck Taylor All Star High Top, Chuck Taylor All Star Low Top, Chuck Taylor All Star Plateform High or Low Top, Chuck 70 High Top or Chuck 70 Low Top, Run Star Hike, Pro Leather, Jack Purcell... From the classic sneakers to the limited editions, the brand has been able to play with silhouettes (low, high or platform), materials (canvas, leather, recycled materials...) and colors (white, black, colored, with or without patterns...) to imagine countless models as diverse as varied.

If Converse sneakers are mixed, the brand explores different styles and declines its models in rather masculine or feminine universes without ever denying its DNA. Men, women, children... Everyone will find the right Converse for them!

How big are Converse shoes?

Converse shoes fit rather large: it is recommended to take a half size below your usual size.

Converse

✓  LIVRÉ AVEC UN CERTIFICAT D'AUTHENTICITÉ


Converse, des sneakers légendaires et centenaires

Converse, une marque iconique

Question longévité, difficile de rivaliser avec les indémodables sneakers Converse ! Créée par l’Américain Marquis Mills Converse à Malden dans le Massachusetts en 1908, la marque mise dès ses origines sur un concept original et novateur : des semelles antidérapantes en caoutchouc pour éviter de glisser ! 

Lors de la création de Converse, on est pourtant bien loin des célèbres sneakers que l’on connaît tous aujourd’hui. La marque commercialise à l’époque... des bottes fourrées ! Un positionnement qui peut sembler a posteriori complètement improbable ! Fort heureusement pour tous les sneakerheads, la marque réalise rapidement que le marché de la botte fourrée est quelque peu limité et adopte alors une toute nouvelle stratégie. 

Converse sort ses premières sneakers en 1915, mais c’est deux ans plus tard, en 1917, que la marque lance le modèle qui deviendra culte : la Converse All Star est née. 

Les Chuck Taylor All Star entrent dans la légende

Créée pour les terrains de basket, la célèbre sneaker se fait vite un nom dans le monde du basketball professionnel. Chuck Taylor en personne, légende du basket, adopte les All Star… non sans quelques modifications (le modèle d’origine lui faisant, semble-t-il, mal aux pieds) ! 

Devenu ambassadeur de la marque, le célèbre joueur popularise les All Star – renommées Chuck Taylor All Star en son honneur – en dehors des terrains de basket. Son nom figure d’ailleurs sur la pastille ornée d’une étoile bleue apparaissant sur chaque modèle au niveau de la cheville. 

Dans les années 50 et 60, les Converse All Star s’affichent aux pieds des plus grandes célébrités de l’époque : Elvis Presley, James Dean, les Rolling Stones… Mick Jagger se mariera même en Converse en 1971 ! 

Le modèle traverse les époques et continue de séduire les icônes de la mode. Quels que soient leur culture et leur style, du streetwear au punk rock, les célébrités s’arrachent toutes les Converse All Star, à l’image des Ramones, de Kurt Cobain puis plus tard de Pharrell Williams, Scarlett Johansson, Millie Bob Brown (Stranger Things) ou encore Julian Casablancas (The Strokes). 

Collaborations et éditions limitées

Converse connaît un succès retentissant jusqu’aux années 1990. Mais au début des années 2000, la marque est dans le rouge. En 2003, Nike rachète l’entreprise – pour la bagatelle de 305 millions de dollars – et la relance sur le devant de la scène mode. 

Pour renouer avec la réussite, la marque au Swoosh applique une recette qui a fait ses preuves avec d’autres modèles emblématiques comme les Nike Air Force 1 ou les Nike Dunk et enchaîne les collaborations et les éditions limitées. Jusque-là considérées comme banales et grand public, les sneakers Converse se déclinent en éditions rares, prisées des sneakerheads et des collectionneurs. 

Converse flirte autant avec l’univers du luxe que les cultures sportswear et streetwear : Converse x Missoni, Converse x Margiela, Converse x Comme des Garçons, Converse X Off-White, Converse x Golf Le Fleur, Converse x Virgil Abloh, Converse x Carhartt… La marque a même à son actif quelques collaborations surprenantes et décalées, à l’image des sneakers Converse x NASA ou encore Converse x Nintendo. 

Converse sait surfer sur les tendances et exploiter les dernières innovations. En 2019, la marque lance une collection éco-responsable et durable baptisée Renew. Ces sneakers écolos sont réalisées à partir de matériaux recyclés : bouteilles en plastique, chutes de toile de coton, vieux jeans, sacs, enveloppes en papier… Rien ne se perd, rien ne se crée, tout se transforme ! 

Basse, haute, plateforme… chacun son style ! 

Style casual et urbain, original et décalé ou chic et élégant… En converses, tout est possible ! 

Chuck Taylor All Star High Top, Chuck Taylor All Star Low Top, Chuck Taylor All Star Plateform High ou Low Top, Chuck 70 High Top ou Chuck 70 Low Top, Run Star Hike, Pro Leather, Jack Purcell… Des sneakers classiques aux éditions limitées, la marque a su jouer sur les silhouettes (basse, haute ou plateforme), les matériaux (toile, cuir, matériaux recyclés…) et les couleurs (blanches, noires, colorées, avec ou sans motifs…) pour imaginer d’innombrables modèles aussi divers que variés. 

Si les sneakers Converse sont mixtes, la marque explore différents styles et décline ses modèles dans des univers plutôt masculins ou féminins sans jamais renier son ADN. Homme, femme, enfant… Chacun trouvera Converse à son pied ! 

Comment taillent les Converse ? 

Les Converse taillent plutôt grand : il est recommandé de prendre une demi-taille en dessous de votre pointure habituelle.